PARK Premiere: Zwerm, Shila Anaraki & Stefan Prins

July 17th -19h30 

46. Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik Darmstadt 2012
Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD)
Frankfurt LAB, Schmidtstraße 12, 60326 Frankfurt

Think of a body in stand-by, a short-circuited thought, a human brain processing at a frequency of 5 GHz… In PARK, six computers form a communication network that provides six performers with real-time instructions. PARK confronts the human body with a digital logic. It plays with the border of the human’s presence and absence in technology and embodies a puzzle in which they outline each other. With playful precision PARK investigates strategies of embracing, resisting, adapting, disrupting or short-circuiting these technical surroundings. Who infiltrates what, and what infiltrates whom? PARK inhabits a peculiar network, which sputters in a much outmoded way. PARK is a first collaboration between Shila Anaraki and Stefan Prins. Together they depart from Infiltrationen, a composition of Stefan Prins for 4 electric guitars and a live-electronics performer. Central to this composition is the notion of technology infiltrating the conditio humana on several levels. Shila Anaraki is a performer and choreographer. An important part of her work is dedicated to collaborations within the contemporary music field. In these liaisons, Shila Anaraki looks for hybrid concepts from which the work can arise.

Concept & performance: Shila Anaraki
Sound & performance: Stefan Prins & Zwerm (Toon Callier, Kobe Cauwenberghe, Bruno Nelissen, Johannes Westendorp)
Scenography & light: Simon Siegmann
Dramaturgy: Adva Zakai, Lars Kwakkenbos

A Zwerm production

Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD)
Champ d’Action
Workspace Brussels

supported by wp Zimmer, Pianofabriek, Cohort

read more

Besides @ Darmstadt

July 18th – 21h00

46. Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik Darmstadt 2012
Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD)
Centralstation, Im Carree, 64283 Darmstadt

Two of the finest young ensembles from Belgium, one evening in the Centralstation – Nadar is no longer an unknown quantity in Darmstadt, since their successful debut concert at the 2010 Summer Courses, while Besides will make its Darmstadt debut. Two one-hour programs reveal the different emphases of these ensembles very well. No fewer than five premieres are in store this vening, among them works of the American master Larry Polansky, the Staubach honorarium recipient Jagoda Szmytka, the previous course participant Alexander Schubert, Kranichstein stipend holder Johannes Kreidler and the composition docent Jorge Sánchez-Chiong.

Matthew Shlomowitz: Avant Muzak (2011)
Matthew Shlomowitz: Letter Piece n° 4 (Adams) (Version 2012)
Jagoda Szmytka: New Work (2012) (World premiere, commissioned as part of the Staubach Honoraria program 2012)
Larry Polansky: She is full of patience (2012) (commissioned by the Ensemble Besides)
Matthew Shlomowitz: Letter Piece n° 5 (Northern Cities) (Version 2012)

“Avant Muzak” of Matthew Shlomowitz is commissioned by Centre Henri Pousseur. The concert is with the Support of the Flemish Authorities and in association with Centre Henri Pousseur.

More info: Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt

read more

Nadar @ Darmstadt: Long live the new flesh

July 18th – 19h30
46. Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik Darmstadt 2012
Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD)
Centralstation, Im Carree, 64283 Darmstadt

After Nadar’s very enthousiastically received concert at the 2010-edition of the Darmstadt Ferienkurse, the ensemble developed a new concert program for the 2012-edition in close collaboration with the Darmstadt Ferienkurse.This concert-program is based on the concept of the Free samples (click here) – program which is performed in March 2012 at the Handelsbeurs, Ghent. The Darmstadt Ferienkurse commissioned Alexander Schubert, Jorge Sanchez-Chiong and Johannes Kreidler to write new compositions for Nadar within this program and the concept of “sampling”. The video’s Long Live the New Flesh by Nicolas Provost, Haunted House by Martin Arnold and Nortbert Pfaffenbichler’s Intermezzo will be shown alongside these three new compositions and Stefan Prins’ Piano Hero#1.

Nicolas Provost: Long Live The New Flesh (2009), part I
Stefan Prins: Piano Hero #1 (2011/12)
Martin Arnold: Haunted House (2011)
Johannes Kreidler: Die “sich sammelnde Erfahrung” (Benn): der Ton (2012) (World premiere, stipend prizewinner of the Darmstadt Summer Course, 2010)
Norbert Pfaffenbichler: Intermezzo (2011)
Alexander Schubert: Point Ones (2011/12) (World premiere, commissioned by the Darmstadt Summer Course)
Nicolas Provost: Long Live The New Flesh (2009), part II
Jorge Sánchez-Chiong: Used Redux (from AutoCine) (wp, 2012) for amplified ensemble, tape and video

Nadar Ensemble
Johannes Kreidler, video
Thomas Wagensommerer, video

Daan Janssens, conductor

read more